The Water Could Be Rising

Spring is in the air!  It’s the season to open up the windows to hear the birds and neighborhood kids splashing in the puddles.  The grass is wet and the sump pump is working to keep your basement dry.

Last spring I heard my sump pump running…and running…and running.  Much longer than usual.  I decided to see what was going on.  It was working and cycling normally, but for some reason, it had decided to take a little vacation at some point and wait to start working again.  The carpet wasn’t wet but it came up a good 10″ higher than it ever should have.

It started me thinking.  What if it took a permanent vacation while I was at work? What would happen to my basement? I decided to look into possible solutions.  Maybe it’s time you did the same.

This is around the time of year that sump pumps and backup kits start hitting the box store sale flyers.  It can be as simple as a battery backup to a whole second pump assembly. I opted to change our pump for a new model, battery backup, and flood sensor.  That’s right! We installed a flood sensor and tied it into our alarm system.  I’ll get a phone call from the monitoring station before the water even makes it to the carpet!

What are you doing to keep what matters most safe? Are you keeping the flood waters at bay?

Give me a call or email if you want to talk about anything security related.  I’d love to hear from you.

Mike Pagnutti
President

m.pagnutti@northernsecurity.ca
705-675-1003
1-800-565-0887

Leave a Reply

